Tuesday, 21 April 2015

BLOG TOUR - Clash of Iron by Angus Watson


WELCOME TO MY BLOG TOUR STOP FOR 
CLASH OF IRON!

READ MY REVIEW BELOW!


Bloodthirsty druids and battle-hardened Iron Age warriors collide in the second volume of this action-packed historical fantasy trilogy which will appeal to fans of Joe Abercrombie and HBO's Game of Thrones

LEADERS ARE FORGED IN THE FIRES OF WAR

Iron Age warriors Dug and Lowa captured Maidun castle and freed its slaves. But now they have conquered it, they must defend it.

A Roman invasion is coming from Gaul, but rather than uniting to protect their home, the British tribes battle each other - and see Maidun as an easy target.

Meanwhile, Lowa's spies infiltrate Gaul, discovering the Romans have recruited bloodthirsty British druids, and Maidunite Ragnall finds his loyalties torn when he meets Rome's charismatic general, Julius Caesar.


Following on from last year's Age of Iron today I have the review for Clash of Iron the second installment in Angus Watson's enjoyable series.

Dug and his partners in crime are back, thank badgers b******s for that!  The Iron Age's biggest baddest bad-ass has a ton of problems coming his way, all of them Roman but first he has a local problem to sort.

Lowa has become a Queen of Maidun Castle but now that she is in charge, she has to keep her people safe and stop any would be invaders getting through her gates, she is ably helped by her closest "friends", Spring the young girl with incredible powers and of course Dug the "gentleman" warrior who has been around the block several dozen times.

There is no way in hell I am going to be able to do this book justice as it has lots going on and it is so incredibly rich in its characters and lands but to be brief the Romans are coming, yes Julius Caesar is planning his attack of the British Isles and he is thinking about heading in our direction. 

After a successful battle where Lowa and Dug and their troops manage to keep Maidun Castle safe, Dug discovers he has inherited some money and decides to buy a farm and retire from his life of bloodshed, Spring stays under Lowa's watchful eye but Lowa has other worries with the threat of the Roman invasion, she sends some trusted spies in to the Romans lair but unfortunately that is met with mixed results.  

Clash of Iron is an epic read, the characters are awesome, especially the women, Spring and Lowa along with the character Chamanca are such incredibly strong, no nonsense females and fair dues to Angus doing such a credible job with his female characters plus the male ones are not bad either!

The ending was, well I'm not sure about the ending there is of course blood and war but it made me sad, I felt loss and I hope that loss is not permanent.  Read it you'll know what I mean.

Clash of Iron is a well written book, it does not take is self too seriously but it does a fantastic job of transporting you back in time to a time when men where men and women happily kicked their asses!

A fantastic read!

Thank you to Clara at Little Brown for kindly providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.





Angus Watson is an author and journalist living in London. He's written hundreds of features for many newspapers including Times, Guardian, Financial Times and Telegraph, and the latter even sent him to look for Bigfoot. As a fan of both historical fiction and epic fantasy, Angus came up with the idea of writing a fantasy set in the Iron Age when exploring British hillforts for the Telegraph, and developed the story while walking Britain's ancient paths for further articles. 

Visit Angus on www.guswatson.com or follow him @GusWatson   



Share:

2 comments

  1. I have a copy of Age of Iron and I can't wait to get started on this series. Lots of my bloggers friends love it:-)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is a great series and book 3 is out later this year! Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete

Thank you for taking the time to comment, I appreciate it and will make the time to come and visit your blog, maybe not today but soon as I am always behind!

Sorry due to lots of Spam I am moderating all comments - no spammers I don't want to buy whatever it is you are selling!

© Random Redheaded Ramblings | All rights reserved.
Blogger Template Designed by pipdig