Wednesday, 19 August 2015

REVIEW - Blog Tour for Landry Park and Jubilee Manor by Bethany Hagen



Hello and welcome!

I have got a double helping for you today! Reviews for both books in the Landry Park series!

Also US readers check out the giveaway below to win some signed copies of these books!


In a fragmented future United States ruled by the lavish gentry, seventeen-year-old Madeline Landry dreams of going to the university

Unfortunately, gentry decorum and her domineering father won't allow that. Madeline must marry, like a good Landry woman, and run the family estate. But her world is turned upside down when she discovers the devastating consequences her lifestyle is having on those less fortunate. As Madeline begins to question everything she has ever learned, she finds herself increasingly drawn to handsome, beguiling David Dana. Soon, rumors of war and rebellion start to spread, and Madeline finds herself and David at the center of it all. Ultimately, she must make a choice between duty - her family and the estate she loves dearly - and desire.

To picture this book I would tell you to imagine Pride and Prejudice in the future, are you imagining that? Yes! Good I shall continue!

Seventeen year old Madeline Landry is the heir to a lavish estate and her family is part of the ruling gentry. This is the America of the future where the rich live in massive houses, they have balls, they want for nothing and they lord upon the poor who are also known as the Rootless.

The gentry have power in their lives thanks to a clever invention that Madeline's family invented, a portable nuclear lantern that can be used in the family home. It lights up their homes but there is a price and it is paid by the Rootless who risk their health to make sure the lanterns stay lit.

Madeline is at the age where she is expected to make a good match, her parents are trying to push her towards the mysterious but handsome David Dana.  A relative newcomer to her town he is both annoying and alluring.  But something about him doesn't add up.

The story focuses on Madeline and David's relationship along with the solving of an attack on a friend of Madeline where the fingers have been pointed at the Rootless.  Civil unrest amongst the Rootless starts to come to Madeline's world.  

She wants to help these people but her roots say she needs to rule over them, Should she follow her families wishes or should she should follow her heart.

Landry Park is a great start to this series, it is very descriptive too, everything from the food to the dresses that Madeline wears are described beautifully.  This is an interesting world with something new to add to the dystopian genre.  The book ends nicely (no spoilers!!) setting in nicely for Jubilee Manor.



The thrilling conclusion to Landry Park is full of love, betrayal, and murder--perfect for fans of Divergent, The Selection, and Pride and Prejudice.

In Landry Park, Madeline turned her back on her elite family, friends, and estate to help the Rootless. Now, in Jubilee Manor, she struggles to bring the Gentry and the Rootless together. But when Gentry heirs—Madeline’s old friends—are murdered, even she begins to think a Rootless is behind it, putting her at odds with the boy she loves and the very people she is trying to lead. If she can’t figure out who is killing her friends and bring them to justice, a violent war will erupt and even more will die—and Madeline’s name, her estate, and all the bonds she’s forged won’t make any difference.


So this will be a brief review as I don't want to spoil this for you! 

Following on from Landry Park, Madeline finds herself in an uncomfortable position, torn between her old family, her new family and her new love.  She is trying to bring the Gentry and the Rootless together but somebody is determined to get in the way.

She is horrified to find out some of her old Gentry friends have been murdered, she turns sleuth to get to the bottom of it, to find out who is responsible for these terrible hate crimes.

Her sleuthing leads to her doubting people she trusts, whoever is responsible is succeeding in starting to drive Madeline and her family and friends apart.  Can she get to the bottom of this before everything she has worked to bring together falls apart?

Sorry for being deliberately vague but you will need to read this gem for yourself, it follows on perfectly from Landry Park.  Madeline proves to be a very determined character and in trying to find the killer she puts her own life on the line. 

This series was a great addition to my dystopian bookshelf and I have to make a mention for the covers of both books, they have such beautiful dresses, don't you think!?


Thanks to FFBC for providing me with copies in exchange for an honest review

 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg


Follow the Jubilee Manor by Bethany Hagen Blog Tour and don't miss anything! Click on the banner to see the tour schedule.





Bethany Hagen was born and raised in Kansas City. She grew up reading Charlotte Brontë, Jane Austen, and all things King Arthur, and went on to become a librarian. Landry Park is her debut novel.


US ONLY





Share:

6 comments

  1. I like the P&P parallelism, and I'm not sure if I missed it, but where's "darcy"?

    ReplyDelete
  2. I suppose Darcy was the character I mentioned called David but the major difference was he was much nicer to begin with Darcy was!

    ReplyDelete
  3. These sound really good, Heather :) I love it when re-tellings are well done and make me feel like I got an extra swing inside of a universe or with characters I have enjoyed in the past :)
    Lexxie @ (un)Conventional Bookviews

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Lexxie! It is definitely worth a read!

      Delete
  4. I haven't read any of the books in this series before, but they sound pretty cool! I like the sound of Pride and P in the future, although I didn't necessarily like that book xD But maybe this series could redeem it a bit.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love P and P!!! This is an excellent read, worth a try!

      Delete

Thank you for taking the time to comment, I appreciate it and will make the time to come and visit your blog, maybe not today but soon as I am always behind!

Sorry due to lots of Spam I am moderating all comments - no spammers I don't want to buy whatever it is you are selling!

© Random Redheaded Ramblings | All rights reserved.
Blogger Template Designed by pipdig